top of page

May 24th, 2015 Rochelle, IL Wall Cloud

Tornadoes: 0

Largest Hail: N/A

Highest Wind Gust: 20 mph (estimated)

This was a day where I was not initially expecting to chase, or really even thinking about chasing. I was actually sitting at a family cookout most of the day as some garden variety thunderstorms rolled over. I was expecting nothing but this for the remainder of the day. Once we got home I noticed on Twitter that we had a mesoscale discussion for our area and had a 2% tornado risk from the newest SPC update.

The MD resulted in a Tornado Watch not much time later.

I convinced my sister to drive us chasing as we targeted a cell with a rotation signature on radar near Princeton as it was headed toward the warm front. We finally got a visual on a white wall cloud near LaMoille. It never did anything much, but it was a beautiful sight.

We finally made it north of Rochelle after the storm was north of the warm front and called it a chase. However, we did find some of the damage from the April 9th EF4 that ripped through the same area.

I've never gotten a chance to go through the damage path in-depth, but for nearly 2 months later, there was quite a bit of damage left over. We headed south on I-39 and made it to Mendota where my sister wanted to stop at a wind farm for some pictures.

We headed back down I-39 on the way home and got a pretty cool shelf cloud at dusk as a band of unimpressive linear storms pushed though.

Not an overly exciting chase but as I've said many times, it was better than sitting at home!


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
No tags yet.
bottom of page